Award Nominations

Bishop Sullivan presents the award named in his honor to Sr. Mary Dennis Lentsch at the 40th Anniversary Annual Meeting in 2010


Each year at our Annual Gathering, CCA awards at least one person and one group for their tireless works on issues of justice in Appalachia.  Nominate someone you think deserves it today!  Email your Nomination Application by August 1st each year.  See form below.

Bishop Sullivan Peace & Justice Award

Nominate any person who meets the following criteria:

  1. At least 10 years experience in Peace and Justice-type work in Appalachia, e.g., housing minorities, community organizing, prisons, environment, worker’s rights, women’s empowerment, health issues, education, living wage, dismantling racism, death penalty moratorium, etc.
  2. The nominee is to be a person who is supportive of the Appalachian pastoral messages: This Land is Home to Me and At Home in the Web of Life.
  3. The nominee is to be a compassionate person.


Catherine Rumschlag, co-founder of FOCIS, presents the award to representatives of Glenmary Home Missioners in 2010

Nominate any group or organization that meets the following criteria:

  1. An exemplary expression of Catholic social teaching.
  2. Actions which make the Gospel concrete in Appalachia.
  3. Ministering to people where they are.
  4. A tradition of service.
  5. An appreciation of Appalachia.

**Awards are presented at each Annual Meeting, Saturday evening following dinner.

AWARD NOMINATION APPLICATION FORM – email the following information to CCA’s office at by June 1st.

1) Your name
2) Your phone
3) Your email
4) Nominee for Bishop Sullivan Award
5) Nominee for FOCIS Award
6) Write a paragraph on how your nominee meets the above criteria for the Bishop Sullivan Peace & Justice Award and/or the FOCIS Award.  Be specific about the organizations, groups, activities or events with which your nominees have been involved.


2000 Bishop Sullivan

2001 Sr. Beth Davies

2002 Fr. Les Schmidt

2003 Sr. Gretchen Shaffer

2004 Mike Vincent

2005 Fr. Rademacher

2006 John Barry

2007 Mary Herr

2008 Sr. Brendan

2009 Marie Cirillo

2010 Srs Terri and Mary

2011 Kathy Hutson

2012 Fr. Jim O’Brien


2014 Maureen Linneman

2015 Marcus & Glenda Keyes






















2015 Sr. Patricia Taube

2015 Sr. Patricia Taube


2015 Arnie & Kathy Simonse

2015 Arnie & Kathy Simonse








2008 Catherine Rumschlag for FOCIS

2009 representative from SOCM

2010 Betsy Dwyer Glenmary Home Missioners

2011 DeRouens for Alderson Hospitality House

2012 Sr. Robbie for Christian Appalachian Project

David Appalachian Crafts Store (Sr. Kathleen Weigand, OSB)

2013  Sr. Kathleen for St. Vincent Mission




2014 Oak Ridge Environmental Peace Alliance (OREPA)


Comments are closed.